The Southern Maryland Association of REALTORS® holds a ceremony every year for the installation of new officers and directors to the association in October.


Kathy Lee Suite Installed as SMAR President

2017 Installation of Officers & Directors

Congratulations to our newly installed Board of Directors! Over 100 were present at the Mechanicsville Volunteer Fire Department on October 16th to recognize the volunteer spirit of our members! The program included networking, a delicious brunch, followed by recognition of special guests, outgoing and current Board of Director members, Committee Chairs and Past Presidents. C. Michele Rockhill was present to be recognized as one of our newest REALTOR Emeritus members. Outgoing President Lisa Van Tassel gave "A Reflection of the Year" where she thanked her mother and family for their help when she was away at SMAR meetings and functions. She thanked Kevin Turner, her business partner and mentor for his support and pointing her to this path of involvement and commitment to SMAR. She thanked to BOD as being awesome during a productive and busy year. She appreciated SMAR staff for keeping on her on target. In the end, she said she had a great support network and proves it does take a village... 

Boyd Campbell, Maryland REALTORS President, was on hand to install the newly elected Board of Directors (listed below), elected at the October 3rd Annual Membership Meeting. Kathy Lee Suite was then installed by Mark Davis. Kathy ended the evening with closing remarks which, in part, included her goals for the association which are to reengage Broker meetings, establish a President's Council for advice and a sounding board and review SMAR ByLaws to be current with industry and technology changes.Thank you to everyone to who attended to make this event successful – especially the following sponsors:

Diamond Bar Sponsor

  • RE/MAX One – Mark Davis


  • Lakeside Title Company – Raina Rath
  • C & F Mortgage Corporation – Tim Murphy
  • Berkshire Hathaway HomeServices, McNelis Group Properties – Chris McNelis




  • All in One Home Inspections – Steve & Michelle Perrie
  • Wealth Management Partners – Rob Ramos


  • 1st Mariner Mortgage – Craig Gough
  • Capitol Title Insurance Agency – Lisa Smallwood
  • Colonial Mortgage Group – Paul Skeens
  • Fitzgerald Financial – Dessie Herbert
  • Pillar To Post Home Inspectors – Guy White

2017-18-19 Board of Directors


  • President - Kathy Suite
  • President-Elect - Judy Szynborski
  • Vice-President - Chris Hill
  • Secretary/Treasurer - Chris Moore
  • Immediate Past President - Lisa Van Tassel


Calvert County Directors

  • Debbie Buckingham
  • Dawn Riley


Charles County Directors

  • Lindsay Clark
  • Aimee Johnson
  • Tanya Redding

St. Mary's County Directors

  • Billy Fitzgerald
  • Karrie Gonzalez
  • Connie Lord